Who We Are


"The Kids First Center has truly shown amazing results. Through workshops, outreach programs and educational forums, numerous children, parents and local professionals have received training and other services devised to help children and families deal with divorce and separation. It is a pleasure to extend my most sincere appreciation for all you have done."

-Olympia Snowe, United States Senator

Peg Libby has been Executive Director of the Kids First Center since we opened our doors in 1998 and is our only full-time employee. A tireless promoter of Kids First, Peg handles public relations, oversees the quality of the numerous programs offered by the Center and works with the Board of Directors to set overall direction for the organization. She serves on all of our working committees.

Mary Swann is our Associate Director. She joined us in May, 1999. Working closely with the Executive Director on development, Mary also oversees our monthly newsletter, our website, social media and other marketing strategies, and our Lending Library.  Mary serves on the Marketing/PR Committee.

Beret Skorpen-Tifft is our Programming Coordinator and joined us in 2008.  She manages intake procedures for our Intensive Co-Parenting Education program (ICOPE) and coordinates all of our satellite Kids First programs.  She serves on the Programs Committee.


Aniela Barr , our Administrative Assistant, joined us in 2012.  She not only works as the office manager, but also coordinates volunteers and manages our Kids Support Groups and our Portland Kids First Program.




The Kids First Center relies heavily on volunteers to accomplish its mission. Over sixty individuals contribute to our success on an ongoing basis. Our volunteer Board of Directors consists of the following leaders in the Greater Portland community:

Board of Directors

Terrilyn DeCoster, Chair
Michelle T. Hayes, Vice Chair
Kristen L. Crean, Second Vice Chair

Kimberly E. Kump, Secretary

Susan Bixby

Tim Kennedy
Catherine C. Miller

Dana Morris-Jones

Neil S. Shankman

Elizabeth Stout

Grey Terry

Mark Woodbury

Peg Libby, Executive Director

Advisory Council

Cushman D. Anthony

Michael P. Asen

Phyllis G. Givertz

Hon. Andrew M. Horton

G.M. (Bucky) Johnson

Shelley Cohen Konrad

see our Annual Report 2012/13 to learn more


home | legal | privacy policy | contact us | register | site map

Kids First Center . 222 St. John Street, Suite 101 . Portland, ME 04102-3054 . (207) 761-2709 . info@kidsfirstcenter.org